T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie ?, the ink on my shirts looks caked and textured, is this an ink problem or mesh count? i am using plastisol inks with a 150ct screen. it is a white on black shirt design. i have seen these colors in other shirts and they are smooth but mine aren't.
thanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What is the brand and name of the ink are you using?

Are you laying down more than 1 coat? Flashing in between?
Like i said i am a newbie. i checked the inks and they have no brand name on the container. they came with my screen printer from 'signwarehouse'. i am flooding the screen, printing, flashing and then applying a second coat and curing. now i have done some with only one coat but it seems that depending on the pressure i use, it will print but it is very light or if i use more pressure, it will begin to clump. when i add the second coat, it gives me the bright white i need but the texture is more evident. will a higher count screen (like a 300) let less ink through giving me a more uniform coat? also does the shirt material matter as far as how it holds the ink? i just started my shirt production but i want to put out quality designs and prints. please help.:(

·
Registered
2,910 Posts
Sounds like you may not have any off contact.
You don't want the screen to sit directly on your shirt. You want 1/8 inch clearance.
You want the screen to pop up after you pull or push the squeegee.
This will give you a smooth, clean print.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds like you may not have any off contact.
You don't want the screen to sit directly on your shirt. You want 1/8 inch clearance.
You want the screen to pop up after you pull or push the squeegee.
This will give you a smooth, clean print.