T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to this, I purchased a heat press and printed several prints using my HP Envy inkjet printer. I now know I made a mistake. I washed one of my t shirts after printing and the ink ran all over. Can you tell me what type of printer is best to use to avoid the ink from running? Also I would like to print on cups and other items, so the printer would have to work for that also. I read to use a sublimation printer but not sure what I should look for. Sublimation printers say to use on polyester and I usually use cotton t shirts.:(:eek:

· Registered
7,155 Posts
Teresa, you should probably use two different printers. One for cotton, and one for sublimation.

You need to cure the ink with your heat press before washing. Some say wait 24 hours. The temperature should hit 320 degrees.

You also need a proper heat press for the mugs, i.e. mug press. I use the same sublimation transfer paper that I use on t-shirts, and mugs. However, some suppliers sell hard and/or soft surface transfer paper.

I bought an Epson printer, bought refillable ink cartridges, and bought sublimation ink to fill them with.

When you change the ink cartridges and use something other than the OEM cartridges, the printer may not tell the computer that the ink is low. Work around, watch the cartridges to see when they're low.

Hope this is helpful.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The t shirt I printed on was 100% cotton, and I printed on it over a week ago. So I guess the time was ok. I had my heat press set at 350 for 30 seconds. Should it be for a longer time? I'm not sure what to do. I have been looking into purchasing a sublimation printer, can I use that printer to make t shirt prints as well?

· Registered
7,155 Posts
Teresa,