T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, i am fairly new to screen printing and im just starting to get the hang of it, but one issue im having is the ink cleanup...is it supposed to be such a crazy gooey mess? i have ink cleaner and ink wipes and im using pastisol ink, but its like trying to clean up glue or something! what am i doing wrong? i have cureable reducer which helps thin the ink, but its like a gigantic mess the second i open a tub of ink, sticks to all my stir sticks making sure they arent reuseable, spaying off my screens even with a pressure washer really has no effect on this super sticky THICK crap! can somebody shed a little light on the situation for me plz? much appreciated.

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
You can get some flexible spatulas for baking they work great for getting almost every drop of ink out of screen back into your ink bucket. The plastic sqeegee for vinyl also work good. They also have disposable ink cleanup cards. Then some screen wash and a paper towel or 2 should finish the screen cleanup<----- this is what I do for screens to be reused later. Otherwise they have citrapaste ink cleaner. Lightly wet screen small amount of citrapaste lightly scrub and rinse. You can use the citrapaste for screens for reuse but the quicker the better and dry cause the water can start breaking down the emulsion depending on what you use. Firm wiping with screen wash works great for squeegees and tools. Citrapaste also works for this.

Reactions: bjparker

·
Registered
8,132 Posts
I card off all the ink. Spray on Franmar's Bean-e-do (both sides), let it sit for a couple of minutes, wipe with paper towel, and rinse with water. The ink comes right off.
I am going to try some of the Franmars products. The one specifically that say enviro friendly as I might be moving shop to town and city requires this although I have visited other shops that use some of the products that they said no to.