T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to screen printing and have heard a thing or two about paying attention to mesh counts. I understand that you can buy screens with different mesh counts but exactly how does it pan out?

Are there different thinknesses in different inks? Is there a universal mesh count that works pretty well with all inks? Does the mesh count really even make much of a difference in the print...enough that I should be concerned?

Thanks everyone.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
Ayres Clothing said:
I understand that you can buy screens with different mesh counts but exactly how does it pan out?
Higher number = more lines per inch = less ink deposit, but more detail.

As an example high mesh counts are used on paper (where you need high resolution and not much ink), low mesh counts are used on dark fabrics (where you need a larger ink deposit, and will have to put up with the resultant loss in resolution). Obviously there's a range of variables in between.

Different substrates and different designs call for different mesh counts.

Ayres Clothing said:
Are there different thinknesses in different inks?
Yes.

Ayres Clothing said:
Is there a universal mesh count that works pretty well with all inks?
No, although there are standard mesh counts that are used a lot more than others.

You're not likely to be going between waterbased and plastisol inks, so once you've worked out what you're printing with you can work out the appropriate mesh count. You shouldn't need to stock a range at first.

Ayres Clothing said:
Does the mesh count really even make much of a difference in the print...enough that I should be concerned?
Yes.