T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I want to start a t-shirt biz that's set-up and have t-shirts thats similar in style to "Tank Theory" I know I have to find designers and artists,but I am more concern about

1. What type of process do "Tank Theory" use to transfer image to the t-shirt

2.Should I use a company like Cafepress or a local printer.

I am very new to the T-shirt biz, so any suggestions or comments are greatly apprecatied. Thanks

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
I think they're a mixture of screenprinted (mostly water-based), and discharge printing.

Cafepress cannot offer either of these methods, and so a local printer would be your best bet (although that would mean a whole host of other things for you to do, such as website set up, CC processing, storage, capital, etc). But it would been you can match tanktheory's quality.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
Tank Theory are a great example of a brand that put a lot of nice subtle finishing touches on their garments. Cafepress would not give you the ability to do any of this, or match their print quality (or even come close). Worlds apart.

As Nick said most of their printing is waterbased screenprinting, with a lot of four colour process. Much the same as Imaginary Foundation (who they have a lot in common with, and do in fact have some shirts from).

·
Registered
32 Posts
I am really interested in doing something with waterbased screenprinting also, if that's what these are (I am looking at Imaginary Foundation).

But how would I go about producing the designs? I mean for the swirls of color effects, what is gong on there? If I just go wild with color in my design will a screenprinter charge for every color and quote me the earth or do I need to just say "waterbased" or something and they will understand what I mean?