T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been printing for over 15 years but, believe it or not, have never printed with a 40 mesh count screen. A cheer squad wants me to print glitter ink and the mfr. recommendation is to use a 40 mesh.
I can't get the screen to image. I have tried increasing my exposure time but it falls apart. I have a hunch it is because I use vellum and not film but before I have someone do a positive for me, I was looking for some input.
Thanks

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
US mesh counts. Most of my work is with 110, 155 & 86 mesh counts. No way glitter can get through an 86, much less a 110.You might be thinking of shimmer. I am using emulsion, I am using vellum for my art. Thanks anyway

· Premium Member
247 Posts
If you are not having issues with the 86 thread count but are having with 40 mesh I don't think it is the vellum , it has been awhile since I have used 40 mesh and even longer since I have used vellum but we used vellum with both thread counts with no issues that I can remember ( but I am getting older ) Is there any other variables ? Anything else different between the two meshes ?

· Registered
4,503 Posts
I had the same problem the first time. The large gaps in mesh 25 and 40 do bring up issues you've been getting away with, when using higher mesh counts.

Vellum does require higher exposure time but should work.

1. make sure the emulsion is dry before exposing it. Mesh 40 absorb more emulsion, and could take more than 24h to dry. I always use a dehumidifier.
2. make an additional screen, for an exposure test.
3. Expose the test screen, https://www.t-shirtforums.com/t-shirt-articles/t106506.html
Tip: When ready to wash the exposed screen, wet both sides first, and let it soak for around 1-2 minutes. Then wash the screen with a hose attachment. Do not use a pressure washer.

Edit: don't forget to put velum under the card when exposing the test screen.