T-Shirt Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would I be able to take an image from say, Google Images, fiddle with the contrast, plonk it on a tee, and sell it? Or would I be arrested, beaten, spit-roasted, fined and possibly embarrassed?

Desmond.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Wouldn't that depend on whether the image had a copywright on it?

And changing contrast isn't changing the actual artwork of the picture itself, so I'm pretty sure it's mostlikely some kind of infringement...But I'm no lawyer.

I'd stick with original art, at least that way you know for sure =)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I thought as much. Pesky infringement of copyright law! And I would have gotten away with it too.......

·
Registered
62 Posts
Desmond said:
Yeah, I thought as much. Pesky infringement of copyright law! And I would have gotten away with it too.......
If it weren't for you pesky kids!

But seriously, if you need graphics, there are many royalty free alternatives available. Sure, you're likely going to have to make a small initial invenstment, but it is certainly worth it if you don't feel like making your own graphics from scratch.

Cheers,
Chris

·
Registered
156 Posts
How do you know if it is copyrighted or not? I found a large turtle graphic on google and I changed its size, color, and blurred the image. Is that cool?

Desmond said:
Would I be able to take an image from say, Google Images, fiddle with the contrast, plonk it on a tee, and sell it? Or would I be arrested, beaten, spit-roasted, fined and possibly embarrassed?

Desmond.

·
Registered
1,907 Posts
Doubtful. Once something is made, it is copyrighted to the creator automatically. It is only free to use if it is specifically put into the public domain, released under a license that lets you use it as such, made before 1924 (I think that date is correct, could be wrong...), or perhaps a few other ways that I'm missing.