T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!
I'm in the process of getting my business WebSite up & running. I've bought a domain from Domain.com & I don't quite know what to do from there. Does anyone know of a good Free Web Host, where I can create my website? Do I have to pay a transfer fee? I'm a newbie to this business & i'm very lost when it comes to creating Websites & such. Any help or ideas would be much appreciated! :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
I don't know of any good free webhosts, but I have been using hostgator for a few years now and have not had any problems with them. I think their first tier package is only $5 a month. Honestly the free hosting route is a pain. There's always something being changed or pop-up ads forced on your site, not to mention instability problems. I stopped using free sites because of the hassles and am very happy now with the paid hosting. As far as your domain, you should be able to have it point to wherever you want thru your domain.com control panel I would think. Not transfer... just forward it or redirect it.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have used Freeservers.com in the past. They have easy templets that are fill then publish you site. However you cannot use dollar amounts by using the $ sign. I usually use XX.xx USD.

By using "forwarding" provided by your domain registry, you do not have to transfer your domain name.

I now use dreamhost.com

·
Registered
13 Posts
I have tried to use free hosts for a long time, and they really are nothing but headaches. Things you want to use are disabled, you can't do this unless you pay, ect. ect.

I'm using awardspace for my site - I've been very happy with them. They are reasonably priced, and since you don't know much about site building you may be interested in the fact that they have automatic software installers for popular things like agora cart, zen cart, wordpress, ect.