T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Illustrator vs Corel Draw

I had a question about these two software programs. I am opening a spreadshirt store and have had people recommend using both illustrator & corel draw to create designs

My background: I am NOT a designer. Most of the t-shirt designs I create will just be slogans. I will probably experiment with utilizing clip art as well. I will hire designers to create more complicated designs.

I have seen people comment that corel draw is easier to use for a novice than illustrator. But does this apply to someone creating simple designs like I described above? If corel draw is the EASIER of the two, are there disadvantages to using it? When I had my initial shirts printed the illustration was created with corel draw. There was MAJOR problems converting it to an AI file so that the printer could use it. I also checked with another local printer and they did not accept corel draw files either. Is this a common problem? I would appreciate any info(preferably from those who have used both programs) but all comments are certainly appreciated! So compared head to head for the PURPOSE of creating slogan based designs(possibly utilizing clip art) which is the best software? Also, does one have more fonts available for use than the other? Thanks in advance, Tony

· Premium Member
56,238 Posts
Most good printers can accept files from CorelDraw. If not in the native .cdr format, you can use coreldraw to export to a more "universal" vector format like an EPS file, which can be opened with most printers.

The problems you might have experienced with the printer might be due to the text in the slogans not being converted to paths/curves. If the printer doesn't have the same font, then it could cause problems.

· Premium Member
4,001 Posts
Interesting.

I've used Illustrator in the past, and recentry tried the trial version of coreldraw (free for 15 days).