T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I know there's a gazillion wall decal business out there, but I really want to give this a go. I am a former graphic designer (20 years) and also a mom. I was looking at wall decor ideas for my boys the other day and saw some Pottery Barn ones which got my gears turning. I've been looking at a lot of other decal sites and I feel like there are some areas that I could fill in. I love to draw and I know Illy and Corel like the back of my hand. I also worked at a sign shop a long time ago, so I've run a cutter before and weeded, etc. I currently own a successful home-based specialty food business, but I'm not sure I want to continue it much longer. I'd really like to have a business that is creative yet not as risky as food.

Anyway, I'd really like advice on a budget cutter. I'd like to cut vinyl 4 feet wide or more. People keep directing me to the Roland 24" because of the optical eyes, but it's too small. Do I really need the optical eyes if I'm not registering anything? I plan to do one and 2-color decals, and the 2nd color probably won't need to be registered - i.e. leaves placed randomly at the end of tree branches by the person applying.

I see some by US Cutter on eBay. There's a 53" for $449.99. Would something like that work? I can go a little higher if need be. I don't want to invest too much before I know if this business is going to fly or not. Once things get going, I'd be more than happy to spend $5-10k on a really high-quality machine.

Any recommendations for a budget cutter to start out with would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!! :)

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
Do I really need the optical eyes if I'm not registering anything?
No, you really do not.

I see some by US Cutter on eBay. There's a 53" for $449.99. Would something like that work?
Are you sure on that price? I could not find this cutter on the US Cutter site.