T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am trying to make my own website, and I need some advice.

I already bought a domain name.
And I wrote most of my web pages, but not the shopping cart system.

I read that there are basically 6 things you need to have for a website;
1)security 2)domain 3)webhost 4)shopping cart 5)merchant account 6)payment processor.

Now I have a question...
I think I will try Cubecart, but should I download and finish writing my website before I sign up with any web host??
Or should I signup with webhost first and then use one of the shopping cart it comes with the hosting plan??

I don't know what order I should do after getting a domain name.
This is my first time to have any website...so makes a bit worried.

Thank you!!

·
Registered
38 Posts
fatcow.com offers a free shopping cart with their service. It's pretty basic, but you can upgrade it for an additional cost. I've not used their cart yet, but am VERY happy with the level of support I've recieved from them on my sites in the past and fully intend to use them as soon as I'm ready to launch my 1st TeeSite.

~v

Reactions: JimGilbert

·
Registered
123 Posts
I would go with:

. . . signup with webhost first and then use one of the shopping cart it comes with the hosting plan??
because of:

I read that there are basically 6 things you need to have for a website;
1)security 2)domain 3)webhost 4)shopping cart 5)merchant account 6)payment processor. . .
Fatcow looks pretty good from what I see at their website but you can check with yahoo, godaddy, and many others to see who offers what you want and need. There can be different prices for stores that are limited to a certain number of items, etc.

·
Registered
38 Posts
They actually let you do some sort of test-drive of a few different kinds of companies. I haven't tried it yet, but apparently you get to admin this "virtual" company.