T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:( I am so confused. I'm brand new to heat presses. Tonight I made a design in InDesign and printed it on an Epson 1400 and used a JetWear Hot peel from tshirtsupplies.com. The first one that I pressed on a white shirt came out okay. The second one that I pressed, some of the color didn't come off on the shirt. The only thing that I can think of that I did differently was not let the second one that I printed, sit up for a few minutes before I pressed it. Is it possible that the printer ink might have caused the second one to not come out the same as the first? At this rate, I'm going to be broke before I start. I have ruined so many shirts. Can someone recommend heat transfers that I can print on to use on dark colors? I don't want anything to show up but the design. The ones that I tried yesterday, the shirt was hard feeling around the extra space between the design and the edge of the transfer. I need HELP....

·
Registered
566 Posts
What kind of press are you using? What settings?

You can do a search of the forums here (use search box at the top of the page) for info on inkjet transfers for darks. But generally they are going to feel thick, will require trimming, and are not particularly durable. I have yet to find any that I would consider "professional" quality.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can't find the name of the press on the machine. That figures. I'm not impressed with heat transfers at this point. I know that screen printing is a lot more work, but to me it is a lot more reliable.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Hi Karen
Don't panic, we all go through this, and we all come out the other side o.k and so will you.
It does sound like the transfer that didn't release its' ink was a little "raw" it needed to dry for about 15 minutes or so before pressing.