T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Scenario--- You have $25,000 for equipment, 6 months of (paid)free time(workshops, seminars, etc) and support of your family.

Which printing skill would you learn first? Screen, Heat or DTG? and why

·
Registered
114 Posts
Im kinda of new to the t-shirt game i learned how to screen print but am not in my opinion going to start making shirts until i perfect it dont want to get a customer and turn him away due to my lack of knowledge....I have not tried heat pressing or DTG but im assuming that screen printing is more complicated so maybe try learning that. And that can help you in making plastisol transfer (i believe its calledthat). If any veterans in the t-shirt game read this and see that i have mentioned something wrong because like i said im still learning and consider my self a amatuer not even a rookie yet.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Sounds to me like you're pretty serious about the business so I'd say screen printing, if you're doing transfers do plastisol transfers. Most shirts out there are screenprinted, usually plastisol or waterbased ink. So if you're shooting high I'd go that round, if it's just a hobby (which it doesn't sound like it is) you could always do heat press with basic transfers.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
TC said:
Which printing skill would you learn first? Screen, Heat or DTG?
Screen printing.

TC said:
Because you have six months to fill and it's the only one that would take more than a day to learn ;)

Or you could do...

Day 1: Heat press
Day 2: DTG
Day 3 - 180: Screen printing.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I don't do screen printing, but do the art and send out to have plastisol transfers made. If I size/gang designs I can have 1 color transfers made up at about 40 to 50 cents per shirt including ups.