T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have never done this before so please bare with me.
If I want to print my own transfers I just print them on my printer (epson r1800 which uses pigment ink) onto transfer paper (don't have any yet, any suggestions?) and then use a heat press to transfer them onto a t-shirt? Am I on the right track? :confused:

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Re: How to...

If I want to print my own transfers I just print them on my printer (epson r1800 which uses pigment ink) onto transfer paper (don't have any yet, any suggestions?) and then use a heat press to transfer them onto a t-shirt? Am I on the right track? :confused:
Yup, that's pretty much it. Try some JetPro SofStretch (a.k.a. JPSS) ... I think you'll really like it.

·
Registered
229 Posts

Yup, that's pretty much it. Try some JetPro SofStretch (a.k.a. JPSS) ... I think you'll really like it.
Only for lights though. If the member is new, they won't know that. You'll need something different for your dark shirts.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts

You're right, I wouldn't have known that. Can anyone suggest a good transfer paper for darks?
I believe Alpha Gold and Iron All for Darks are two that people are happy with, but since I don't actually use either you should probably try to verify that by searching through some threads. I know there are a couple of recent ones floating around about both of these papers.

Another thing with the transfers for darks is that they are opaque – meaning if you don't completely trim around the design there will be white.

·
Registered
63 Posts