T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out and work at night from my home. Someone ordered shirts for a birthday party this weekend. My deadline is tomorrow and I do not know what to charge. My brother recommended my service, the order is for my brothers friends boyfriend who is having a party to celebrate his girlfriends birthday.

I've never met him and all communication has been through my brother. He wants 12 shirts, various sizes and my brother emailed me a picture they want printed on the shirt. I printed it on transfer paper and sent them a picture of the heat pressed image on a tshirt. The guy never asked for prices and approved the image on the shirt.

I'm going to finish printing tonight and have no idea what to charge. We live near NYC and I used transfer paper I had in stock as well as some white t-shirts I had left over from another job. Can someone please give me an idea of what to charge?

·
Registered
3,075 Posts
A quick estimate might be: $2 for the transfer, $1 for the ink, $2 for the shirt. $5 total materials. Double that for a mark up. $10 plus $2-$4 per shirt for your labor.

If it was for a friend I'd probably do them for $12 each, since it's 12 shirts. If it was just one I'd charge $18.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We spent about 30-45 minutes cleaning up the picture before we were able to print it on the transfer paper. The shirts I used are Next Level for mens and Bella for women. Not sure if these two things should be factored into the price.

·
Registered
3,075 Posts
My opinion about artwork is if I can spend half an hour to 45 minutes cleaning something up to make a print look really nice as opposed to sort of...meh, it's worth that time in the repeat business and word of mouth advertising the customer will provide. No matter who's fault it is, if a customer doesn't like the shirts it's bad for business.