T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to posting on this forum. I read from time to time the great advice and information given on this board but this is my first time to post a question. I hope I am posting this in the correct location on the board.

I am a vector artist and I was contacted by someone who wants to use one of my designs on tshirts for a group to wear at a charity event. I personalized the design for her and she is using a local printer to make the shirts.

I was wondering if anyone could explain how I need to send the design so they can use it as a decal on the shirts. I can't get a hold of the vendor and I am going to be without my computer files after tomorrow and I am a bit desperate.

The person I am working with relayed to me from the vendor " file could be at least 300 dpi and she said that they're doing the design as a decal so fill in the spaces in black and outline the entire thing with a thin black line. " That makes sense but the design is not a nice, neat outline. It's pretty cluttered and to fill in all the white spaces would be time intensive unless I can just put it on a black background. I also am not sure if they need it with color or just outlines. There is a lot of color in this design.

I tried to research what a design should look like for someone who is going to cut decals but I must not be using the correct wording and I can't find a visual example which would be very helpful.

If anyone who uses full color vectors to make decals for shirts could help me I would be very grateful. I would love to see what it should look like verses just a vector design. And aside from 300 dpi which I already have set up, what is the best way to send the file for the decal software? Should it be in an .eps format or can it be .jpg or .png? Many thanks for your time and help!

·
Registered
2,984 Posts