T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
27,698 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
PREFACE

I think I first came across IdeaPaint from a link posted on Twitter. It's a pretty neat product...

IdeaPaint is basically a special type of paint that you can paint on just about any flat surface. Once dried, the surface automagically turns into a dry erase board! You can paint walls, tables, desks...you name it!

This past Christmas, they had a sale on their 3 square foot "Lil Bit Kit" packs, so I bought a few for friends and snagged a couple for myself to play with.

After figuring out which type of sign vinyl would work best for this type of wall application (with the help of some great T-ShirtForums members), I got to work on my wall mural idea.

Disclaimer: I'm not an artist or a painter. I don't play one on TV :) What you see here is my attempt at making a fun t-shirt mural for my wall :)

How I made a t-shirt mural with ideapaint, a vinyl cutter and some sign vinyl

What's needed:

• Some IdeaPaint - my mural was small-ish, so I used their Lil Bit Kit. Bigger murals mean mo' paint.
  • A vinyl cutter/plotter - I used a Roland GX-24, but any vinyl cutter should work. If you don't have a cutter, you can outsource the cutting part to someone that does.
  • Some sign vinyl - Oracal 651 (matte) was recommended by forum members, but other brands may work as well.
  • Application tape - different people have their favorites, but I had R-Tape AT60 Clear Choice on hand, so I used that.
  • A wall - a flat wall surface is preferred, but mine has texture, which can make erasing in crevices a bit of a challenge.
STEP 1 - find a graphic for the t-shirt outline (or draw one)

My first step was finding just the right "t-shirt frame" for my mural. As I mention in the disclaimer, I'm not an artist, so I decided to scour istockphoto.com for a t-shirt template to use.