T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Im very new to pressing transfers to t-shirts, and am having some trouble pressing onto t shirts using some stock transfers I picked up. I first pressed some black/white transfer lettering, and that transfered perfectly to my shirts, but its the multi-color transfers Im having difficulty with. When I press them using the guidelines given, and try to peel them off the shirts, the color doesnt seem to transfer to the t-shirt, and comes back up with the transfer sheet. I followed the heat, and time guildlines to a T, and Im guessing the only other issue is pressure. Im not sure how much pressure is medium, or light or whatever...I dont want to damage the arm of the heat press by applying too much pressure. When I press the arm of the press down, am I supposed to use some of my bodyweight to lock it into place? Im using a mighty press lite by the way. Anyone have any insight on this, please reply. Thanks.

I also saw a previous post on this issue, but it didnt really clarify much for me as far as the amount of pressure needed for certain transfers.

·
Registered
950 Posts
Hey twistedlight,

Did you ever figure out what the problem was with this situation?

I thought it was an interesting question/problem.

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
The problem sounds like a pre heat situation. You must pre-heat your tee before placing the transfer on it. get rid of the moisture. I set my pressure just tight enough so I can't pull the shirt out. No need to squash it. If you leave lines around the frame of press on the shirt you may be pressing too hard.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Depending on the type of ink used it sounds like a temperature problem on your machine. Don't trust your temp gauge. I would raise the temp in 10 degrees til it works. Sometime cold peel need to be pulled quickly. YOu will have to play along with it til you figure it out.

·
Registered
1 Posts