T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
Like many I'm new to this industry and could use any and all help. Big question for me is how do you determine your inventory in the beginning? Buy equal numbers of shirts in each color and size? Thanx

·
Registered
2 Posts
That's pretty much what I did when I started my own clothing line. I picked M, L & XL for Men and S, M & L for women to start off with. I then ordered equal amounts of each size of each color to begin with. After our first show, we found that we should have included Small for men's shirts and XL for women's shirts (at least for some of the designs). The more popular ones are L/XL for Men and Medium for women so you may want to order more quantities of those sizes.

·
Registered
59 Posts
As far as knowing what sizes to stock......The general rule / ratio (and I got this from Quicksiliver and Volcom) is:

Women

xtra small 2.0
small 3.0
medium 3.0
Large 2.0

Men

small 1.5
Medium 2.5
Large 3.5
XL 2.5

For example....if you bough 100 mens shirts:

15 would be small
25 would be medium
35 would be large
25 would be XL

However, our target market is 17-29 years old. This formula might not work for your demographics.

·
Premium Member
27,698 Posts
My tip for you would be to make sure you stock some XXL sizes. The US is a "big" market in more ways than one, and you'll be missing out on sales if you don't have the size that folks want.

·
Registered
505 Posts
I'm at a sentence in my business plan that says:

"Company will hold ..... (this can be either dollar amount or number of units) of inventory at all times to ensure proper supply."

How should I come up with this number? I don't need a break down by sizes or men/women. Just a general number that will satisfy my daily sales.
I want to be able to drive that number from something instead of just coming up w/ a number from thin air.