T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.

I'm attempting to screen print my own poly mailers using Nazdar 9700. I'm totally new to screen printing and learning as I go. I attempted a run today and failed hardcore. The ink dries so fast!

I want to use the same screen for several runs of the same design but need to clean the ink off between obviously. What do you use to clean off solvent based inks (e.g., Nazdar 9700) from the screens without reclaiming the screen? I've used lacquer thinner today but it is so potent. I would love to use something else if it works better and would really appreciate your input.

Thanks!

Scott

·
Premium Member
4,202 Posts
If you want to slow down the drying of your prints, Nazdar has a 9731 Retarder that you can mix in with the ink. It gives you a little more time. I don't think it's necessary when you understand how these inks work.

1. Thin your ink down. You typically shouldn't use it straight out of the can. You can use an RE180 reducer from Nazdar. The consistency you want is probably that of syrup. It shouldn't be too thin, because your print will not be clean, and it shouldn't be too thick, because it will dry up your screen very fast. These inks dry through evaporation. So you need to add a reducer so there is more to evaporate. If you are printing and the ink starts to thicken, you can get a misting spray bottle and put some RE180 in it and spray a mist over your ink. Then when you flood coat the screen (see next point), you are working a little bit of reducer back into the ink and loosening it up again.