T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello guys ive been trying to start my own t-shirt business and been reading and watching plenty of video's lately, unfortunately as much as i read more i get more confused :confused:, so ill give it another try and maybe you guys can help.
So as i was saying in the topic i am a beginner i use to work in a place and we used decals and heat press but now i want to start my own business with a DTG printer, i am looking for a DTG witch will be easy to use, fast, and with the best value for money, i also want to know whats the average cost for a printing t-shirt with a DTG printer, i really hope you guys can help me figure those things out.

· Premium Member
2,779 Posts
There is no exact answer. What kind of budget do you have? Do you want to print on dark garments (white ink)? How many pieces do you expect to print daily, monthly? Who is you customer? Is print quality or print speed more important?

Print costs can range between $.25 for white shirts to $6.00+ for large hi res prints on dark shirts.

· Registered
2,625 Posts
We printed some jobs today where the cost per print was $2.10 for the blank, $0.13 for the ink and about $0.50 in labor total each. So under $3 out the door.

We also are about to print some jobs today where the cost per print will be $3.00 for the blank, $1 for pretreat, about $0.50 for pretreat labor, $4.75 for ink and another $1 for labor for printing and curing. So about $10.25 out the door.

· Registered
370 Posts
I was replying to this thread earlier and got called away.
As a beginner myself (a little over a year experience) I will say the single most important factor in picking a printer is the support. After you have some experience, understand the main concept of how a dtg works, you may want to change printers based on your experience and what you are looking for specifically. Quantity/quality/speed....etc