T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a photograph of graffiti art that I want to make into a design on a t-shirt. I obviously don't want the border or background of the photograph to appear on the shirt...just a portion of the graffiti. I have never made a t-shirt before, as I am just a beginner and wondered how I should go about this? Is it better to hire someone who know's what they are doing to create a template, then have the shirts made? Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks so much :)

·
Registered
414 Posts
This is a process you can do on an image editing program like Photoshop if you have it. You may want to get someone to do it for you if you dont have any experience with the program so you can get a good solid image that will be good for print.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have 'Gimp' software which is similar to Photoshop, but still have never created a template for a shirt, nor do I know how to. I'm sure I could figure it out but you are right it's probably better to get a professional.

How much do people usually charge to create a template for you? Once you have a template, can it last to create large quantities of t-shirts?

·
Registered
414 Posts
I have 'Gimp' software which is similar to Photoshop, but still have never created a template for a shirt, nor do I know how to. I'm sure I could figure it out but you are right it's probably better to get a professional.

How much do people usually charge to create a template for you? Once you have a template, can it last to create large quantities of t-shirts?
Shops have different prices, it depends on the art. The shop I go to for my supplies charges 15 to burn screens and 30 to do art work and print the vellum.

Once you print out your image to a medium it will last as long as you keep it. You can just keep using it over to make new screens.