T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am a few clicks away from buying a 6/2 riley hopkins junior (£2202 all in with vat and delivery) i was a little bummed that I couldn't stretch for the 6/4 due tomy budget..which is already blown! I have been thinking about it, do i really need anymore than 2 platens? I can swing the platen to flash dry if needed and I would be the only person using the carousel. I know youcan get more t's set uo at once, but it takes just aslong to put 4 shorts on a 4/6 as it does to put 2 shirts on a 2/6 twice.

Am I missing something? And if i am. Is it really an essential to have more than 2?

· Registered
14 Posts
I am by no means an expert but have had the 6/2 manual setup for about a year. So far, the main issue is that when doing larger runs you want to flash one side while you print the other side. When you do that with 2 platens, each one is spending half of the time under the flash dryer. It heats up the platen to a point where it starts messing up you're prints. With 4, each platen would only be under the flash for a quarter of the time meaning they wouldn't heat up to that point or it would take a lot longer to get there. When you do hit that point you're essentially dead in the water and have to wait to let them cool down. And if you have wooden platens, it takes even longer.

If I could do it over again, I would've gone with a 6/4

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.

Surely the the shirts would spend the same amount of time under the press on a 2/6 as 4/6. Print, rotate... print, rotate, regardless of the amount of platens. Please tell me if i am missunderstanding. I may be missing something.

Have you been managing okay with a 2/6? I know 4/6 would be ideal, but i am not sure it is worth it for a single operator. I don't anticipate extremely large runs in the first instance.