T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I have been embroidering since 2005 on a Toyota ESP 9000 machine. I have two Dickie thick canvas jackets to do, and I just tried my first one. I was holding the jacket to keep the weight from pulling on the hoop, but it still came unhooped half way through. I searched for forum posts on this subject, and everyone said to use a magnetic hoop, but I don't have one and don't want to purchase one for just two jackets. Any other advice? I do have a 7 in one hoop - can I use that with some heavy clamps? I feel that that would allow too much play with the thickness of the material and quilted lining. This is just a left chest design, so I just know there's a way! Any tricks / advice / help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much - Carol MacHatton, CM Custom Embroidery, South Bend, IN

·
Registered
185 Posts
Im not familiar with the jacket you using but i did have a similiar problem with a thick jacket long story short i was lucky enough to find a seam that i could slice then easily sew back together allowing me to essentially split the jacket and hide the embroidery in the process.
Obviously isn't going to be the best route for all situations!

·
Registered
633 Posts
I say... Just buy the hoop. Once you do you will find you use it more than you thought you would. Fast frame with sticky AND a few clips on it would be my 2nd option. But I prefer the mighty hoops. Just get the hoop only option which doesn't include the system holder. If you don't have the board and setup, then it can be used like a regular hoop. One thing that I don't care for is the fact that they're all square or rectangle. It's hard to keep everything good and square when you can't just rotate it a little like you can a round hoop.

·
Registered
17 Posts