T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, im new to all of this and the site so i apologise now if im asking this question AGAIN or in the wrong place.

I have recently bought a heat press to use with transfer paper, but then i saw vinyl on t shirts which looks better (as after the 1st wash using transfer paper the image cracked, and im hoping to sell some).

I have looked at the 24" refine vinyl cutter which is about my budget, but the supplier said it wasnt compatible with a MAC so now im back to square one.

Ive read on some posts that the Roland cutters are good, but they seem to be out of my price range.

Also, are they easy to use for a complete beginner to the machines and the software (i dont even know what software i would need)??

Can anyone help me PLEASE??:confused:

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your reply, ive just had a quick look on Ebay and they have one from a US shop, ill have to see if i can find one in the UK.

·
Registered
396 Posts
use cadworx live. it will load on to your mac and works with most cutters. i have it on my macbook pro and my pc. works on both.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I use a RolandGX24. I found a used one for $950 and I use the cut studio plug-in with Illustrator and it works great....on my mac of course :)

·
Registered
60 Posts
I use a RolandGX24. I found a used one for $950 and I use the cut studio plug-in with Illustrator and it works great....on my mac of course :)

I don't use a mac, but I do use a GX24, and according to Amir it does works on the Mac. Its an awesome cutter. I've tried a couple different cheaper ones and I wish I had just spent the extra money up front and gotten the GX24...well worth the investment. Save you money in the long run...

Lorton VA...I used to live there too...the Amtrak auto train horn would keep me up all night...

·
Registered
58 Posts