T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am really new to the screen printing business. We purchased the assets of a local printer who was going out of business due to a divorce. With it we received 40+ wood screens (most 110 mesh). All equipment, screens, etc is no more than 2 years old.

Now that we are finally setup and getting ready to start, cleaning out the old screens/squeegees etc is top on the list.

After plenty of research here and elsewhere online, we purchased Franmar chemicals (Strip-e-doo, d-Haze, Bean-e-doo, green-e-way, and d-Grease).

The previous owner... apparently "cleanliness" was not a key element of his business plan... there is ink everywhere and the screens were just tossed in plastic garbage bags when done being used. From what I can tell, he used Ulano FX-88 emulsion and Wilflex inks.

I started cleaning a couple screens to see what happens at the local car wash. After washing off all the excess ink I could, we used the Bean-e-doo to remove the left over ink... scrubbing and rinsing. Then used the Strip-e-doo to remove the emulsion. After scrubbing and letting sit for 30 seconds (as recommended from Franmar), we washed them out. Surprisingly "most" came out.

There is still a slight "design imprint" where the screen was uncoated... I can still read it. I tried the d-Haze and d-Grease... that lightened it. I tried the Bean-e-doo and Strip-e-doo again. Same thing... but it still there.

Here are my main questions:
- Is this "image" going to be an issue?
- When normally cleaning a screen to reclaim it... should it be 100% clear/clean?
- One screen I tried has the same issue but in one section, near the top, there is pink/solids that won't come off. Could this be a "locked' portion of the screen as I have read on here?