T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Friends, My name is Wilmer, and I go by "Wilmer Lens" on my social media accounts. I am a New York based photographer and digital artist. I have been interested in turning my art pieces into t-shirts for a while now but I am really new to the whole process. I have tried some print on demand services that use DTG methods, but truthfully I didn't like the quality. The colors would always be a bit off or when working with a thicker material like a hoodie the print would look a bit muddy.

One of my friends suggested I should try either screen printing or heat transfer since my art uses a ton of color.
Anyway, I am here to learn as much as I can and hopefully get some guidance on how to start printing my work on t-shirts.

Thanks for having me :)

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
Quality tends to vary with POD DTG, as there is a fair amount to get dialed-in for optimum results with a particular image on a particular garment color and fabric composition. But since they are only printing one of a particular image, they will be using a more generalized optimization, and may also be saving money on ink by cutting back on that a bit.

You might have better luck with a local shop that has a DTG printer, at least if you are going to print multiple copies of a piece at one time.

If you are printing enough copies at one time, then screen printing would likely be your best bet (every color adds to the setup costs--the more colors, the larger the quantity of prints for it to be an affordable cost per unit).

If printing to white garments and 100% Polyester is acceptable, then sublimation printing will look great and is very durable. But often neither 100% poly nor white is desired. The various inkjet and laser transfers for dark garments leave a lot to be desired in terms of handfeel and durability, and thus I wouldn't consider them retail quality.