T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, this is my first forum post (aside from introduction) but I am seriously in need of some assistance. I am a graphics artist who has hired a company who produces my images on shirts using silk-screening which is working out very well, but....

I have had many requests for offering my images on black t-shirts, using the heat press/heat transfer method. The method works great on white shirts but in doing my research about working with black shirts.. came across a supposed "One step" method for use with dark colors.

In excitement I ordered allot of this "wonder product" and enough black shirts to clothe a small army...

Just last evening I made my first transfer to try out... It printed ok, cut easily enough and I managed to get it to peel without to much cussing on my part ;-)

But.... After following the instructions to the letter.... The image background and border are highly visible in fact... almost white in color and in my opinion.. looks like.. well crap.

The shirt is useless and I have already written a rather harsh letter to the company where I made the purchase of this "transfer paper" demanding a full refund. But I still wish to persue the idea.

Can anyone recommend a "proven method" for creating transfers for use with black t-shirts that does in fact work? I don't mind a wee bit of background noise (as I call it) but you get the drift I hope.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
With opaque inkjet transfers, there is a white background that shows through. This is just the nature of the product.

If you dont want a white background and still want to do dark shirts with your heat press, you can buy a vinyl cutter and make vinyl transfers, or you can buy plasticol transfers from companies like first-edition.com.

·
Registered
282 Posts