T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm new to heat transfers and bought some for a craft show. To learn how to apply the transfers I cut up different types of transfers into sections and applied the parts to a spare tshirt. Found the best results with a tshirt under the tshirt impressing onto. Next I go to a flap top onesy and try and press and the transfer just peeled off the tshirt. Any suggestions what to do. Start experimenting again? Any other suggestions. Thanks for any help in advance.

·
Registered
996 Posts
The transfers you purchased should have instructions as to heat, pressure and time. Also what material are you pressing on. Cotton, cotton blend? These things all make a difference. Lastly, are you using an iron or a press. All these factors will make a difference in the end result.

·
Registered
911 Posts
its usually a time/temp/pressure issue .. What is a flaptop? ..maybe it wont take a transfer? Pressure is usually pretty heavy with transfers iv'e used. You read the instructions i assume=0), are you sure your not reading your thermo in Celcius thinking Farenheight?
Is your press good? no cold spots? an infrared thermometer will help you as well as temp. strips from most tranfer suppliers,(is paper taht you put in your press) and will tell you the temp based on what colour it turns...tho' Iv'e no experience with temperature paper.:)

·
Registered
142 Posts
Hi
I'm new to heat transfers and bought some for a craft show. To learn how to apply the transfers I cut up different types of transfers into sections and applied the parts to a spare tshirt. Found the best results with a tshirt under the tshirt impressing onto. Next I go to a flap top onesy and try and press and the transfer just peeled off the tshirt. Any suggestions what to do. Start experimenting again? Any other suggestions. Thanks for any help in advance.
I was gonna make a spit-up joke about the flap-top onesy, but anyway *cough cough*…