T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am a proud noob to t-shirt printing.

Anyway just turned on my heat press that I bought, watched youtube videos on how to set it up. Did everything by the book, from horizontally inversing the print on a heat transfer to linting the tee etc. On the net it says to do heat transfers at 350-400 degrees.

Then 2 problems major started occuring:

-At around 350 degrees my heat press began smoking, from around the top plate area, it was not a pleasant smoke but like melting plastic.

-I quickly pressed the t-shirt for 20 seconds. While the design came out perfectly, where the hot plate went on my shirt the whole shirt charred yellow, it charred through the wax paper also.

-I then quickly turned off my heat press at it looked as if it was going to start burning.

So I finished with a perfect heat transfer but a ruined charred t-shirt, and some large worries about my heat press.

What am I doing wrong? Is the heat too much for my tees, should I be doing them at 200? Why is my heat press smoking unhealthy, it made the whole house smell of a burnt plastic type smell. I thought it could be my top plate being dirty but it is perfectly clean, I tried to clean it and to my dismay it was brand new clean! Could it be to do with the power I am running power to the heat press from a long extension cable?

Any help would be appreciated, and I would be grateful for any pointers afforded to me, thanks.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
Did you ever ask instruction or did the store given you proper instruction prior to the press operation? 350-400 is really hot it will likely burn your shirts...

When I bought my press, they instructed me to press shirts from 180-250. They have also gave me transfers and shirts to do my experiments, but not instructed to do it on 300 or more.

·
Registered
6,874 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4