T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am just getting started at screenprinting I bought some used equipment and now I am trying to figure it all out. I have unsuccessfully tried to burn screens for about a week now. I am not quite sure what I am doing wrong I am using a homemade exposure unit with 500 watt lighting under glass I have tried burn times anywhere from 1 minute to 3 minutes previous owner said he exposed for 1 1/2 minutes, anyway I get a ghost image when i am rinsing and that is about it! My garage is really hot would that effect the screen when emulsion is drying? Or could my emulsion be bad? It came with the equipment but looked like it was brand new so I just started using it the other problem could be my exposure time I read that if the emulsion rinses away that it is underexposed which is what happens after 1 minute of exposure it does not rinse out at 1 1/2 minutes but neither does my image. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in Advance
Kelly

·
Registered
274 Posts
Your emulsion could definitely be bad. It doesn't have a long shelf life if it isn't refrigerated, and if it came with the used equipment, my guess is it hasn't been used in quite some time. If I were you, I'd buy some new emulsion and do a step wedge test to determine the correct exposure time.

·
Registered
35 Posts
well it could be several problems, how old is the emulsion first, emulsion will last about 6 to 7 months if keep in the fridge, not the freezer of course. two i think the time the image was burned is to short, i have about the same set up and it takes me about 6 minutes to burn my image at about 15 inches high. see if you can find out how old is the emulsion f he cant tell you maybe you should buy a new one, then try to burn, good luck.

·
Registered
275 Posts