T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of purchasing a heat press on ebay. I have had no luck in sourcing a good second hand press and due to my tight budget ebay is my next option. I was thinking of a swing press as it is for vinyl to tshirt application. Any feedback?

·
Registered
259 Posts
Hi Little Red, funny you should ask that! Before I logged on I was in Ebay and I looked at the heat presses myself. Now I am not an expert but my overall impression is "What a load of old rubbish"! We have a lot of people who are bringing in all sorts of products from China and heat presses are amongst them. You would be buying a "Pig in a poke" and you would be paying ripoff rates for freight. There is one clown on eBay with an $89 heat press who charges $199 for freight! Second hand ones are thin on the ground today but when I have checked in the past many have been smaller than 38cmx38cm. If your doing big transfers 38x38 is good, but if you have a smaller press you can't do big transfers! And you need even heat over the platten so you can't test an eBay purchase before you buy it. Consider a new one. Ok, you may have to go into hock for it but it's new and will come with guarantee. It will probably be dearer than eBay press but at least you got piece of mind....and someone local to deal with. Cheers

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies. I wish my lead for the used heat press hadnt fell through, they are really hard to come across it seems. I was hoping someone had some luck with ebay. I know some are dirt cheap but there are others that are slighlty more expensive with a warranty. It is tempting to try my luck...:)

·
Registered
37 Posts