T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I got instructions for tshirtsupplies.com for hand ironing with JPSS and I tried it on a sample sheet I was sent. I am a hobbyist only--maybe 10 shirts a year, so clearly most of you are in a far different category from me!

The instructions are basically to use two hands and iron with as much pressure as possible vertically and then horizontally. If the design is mostly covered by the iron when doing this, you are only supposed to iron for 45 seconds vertically and then 45 horizontally.

The only thing I can see that I did wrong is that I did not time the horizontal ironing correctly. Husband was doing it, and I was timing it, and he ironed a little too long (perhaps 20 seconds). It says to cold peel after 2 minutes and we did this.

The left side of the design looks perfect! (Not washed yet) The right side of the design looks like it faded out a little bit, and you can't see the design of the image as well as it looked on the paper alone. I remembered that some ppl said if you get a splotchy looking image (not really what I got, but it was all I knew to try), that they put the paper back on and ironed some more. So we tried that for about another 15-20 seconds on the side that looked faded.

It seems to make it look a little more faded. Obviously the extra ironing was not a good idea. Any other suggestions you would make for me to try and get a better result?

I don't want to order more JPSS for all my shirts this trip if the hand ironing thing is nto going to be good. But I have 1/2 a great result, and 1/2 just so-so

THANKS!!

·
Registered
426 Posts
Do you see alot of the color still left on the transfer paper? If so then yes there was not enough pressure to force the color onto the garment. I believe that hand ironing this paper will be hit and miss, though not as sensitive as other papers it is still very pressure dependent.

·
Registered
153 Posts