T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello - I really don't know many graphic designers and over the weekend I needed one so I contacted the local guy in town to take my idea from my head onto the computer. He is charging 35 bucks per hour and will show me what he has this afternoon. If I don't like it I assume modifications will be made and he'll charge per hour for those as well. Then.. the next step is to give design to my printer and he has to charge to make a template for each design (which we are being charged for), then print each shirt. So I have 2 questions for you guys..
#1. For the Graphics part is it normal to charge per hour (and is $35 high,low or average), or is a flat rate once the design is complete more industry standard?
#2. For the print job does a new template need to be made for each design and should we be charged every time?

I'm new at this and loving it but need to wrap my brain around all this I don't understand. Thanks in advance.

MaryAnn
:confused:

· Administrator
18,946 Posts
MaryAnn,

It is not unusual to be charged by the hour for graphic design. To better control your budget though, in the future you would want to have a flat rate which should provide you with 1 or 2 revisions/adjustments.

Once done, depending on the type of work he is doing for you, he should provide you with the digital files that will allow you to do whatever you want with them without having to go back to him for templates or sizing adjustments.

· Registered
3,838 Posts