T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I'm a newbie to the whole plastisol transfer biz, but common sense is telling me you can find good and very bad transfers from the same company. Is that normal? I bought 6 different stock designs from one place. I followed all directions carefully. First two came out great.

Next two were warm peels. I followed the companies instructions. Half the design never came off the transfer paper. The bottom flourish ribbon on the design never moved. After trying several different temps, pressure and time I decided to do an extreme test.

I cranked the temp up to 400F, put very high pressure on, pre-heated for 10 seconds, then locked down for a full 20 seconds. The damn bottom ribbon flourish acted like I had done nothing!! Not one single spot came off the transfer paper. Surely that can't be right!

Would you agree there must be something wrong with that transfer? I love the designs this place makes and they seem like one of the biggest transfer companies, but damn I'm getting discouraged fast dealing with non-working transfers. Again I'm new so it all could be me, but from what I did to try to get that transfer to come off I don't think so. Right?? :confused:

· Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You say these came from the same supplier but did they come from the same manufacturer? Most stock companies sell transfers from many manufacturers....
Oh really? I did not know that. I assumed most of the big transfer companies all made their own, since most also offer custom transfers. Well I have no idea then, can't really tell with these. Do you think maybe I got some old transfers that have been sitting around so long they are no longer good? I mean damn, 400 F for 20 seconds with a two hand hard press and nothing at all seems very strange. Someone is suppose to call me to help from the place, but I fail to see how these will work no matter what he tells me. :(