T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a few general start-up questions--I apologize if they're really basic or if they've been answered before, I'm still a newbie!

I'm thinking of starting out small, offering maybe 2-3 designs on 1 type of t-shirt (and different sizes). My only printing experience so far has been a 12-pc order from Customink, which was very easy but of course expensive.

For my next step, I was thinking of ordering 100-150 of each design, and I was looking at places like rushordertees that provides the t-shirts. Then I read that it's more cost effective to order the t-shirts myself (blanks?) and then have a printer print them. Would that be cost effective for someone like me who's just starting out? I don't think I'm quite ready to have a business ID (??), so I don't know if I could get good wholesale prices. Plus, buying cases (most cost effective) sounds like a lot to me--but maybe it's not as bad as I think?

Second, when a printer prints a t-shirt, can you "own" the screen (if that's what it's called)? And then could you actually bring it to another printer, or does it "belong" to the first printer? Also, how does that work with copyrights/trademarks? I do plan on trademarking my design (weekend project!). I hope that's not a silly question.

Third, the t-shirts I ordered from Customink were American Apparel gym shirts (M304). After wearing and washing them for almost a year, I really like them, although they do run small. Also they're expensive; the quick quote from Customink for 150 shirts (1 color) was $8.21 each, although I guess this includes shipping and everything. Does anyone know the wholesale price of these shirts? Also, would comparable shirts from Bella or Alternative Apparel be less expensive/better quality?

I hope these questions make sense--I know I'll come up with more soon! Thanks!

·
Registered
302 Posts
bruisergirl,