T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the business and like most I'm starting out of the garage learning as I go. I've run into a problem with my flash unit. It trips before the element heats up completely, within just a couple of minutes. I just bought the unit and the ebay listing said it would run on a common 120V 20 amp household circuit. I'm using A heavy duty 12 gauge 15 amp 1875 w extension cord to run it. With my first few small jobs this wasnt an issue, it worked fine. But the other day when I started a run of 100 shirts, it started tripping on me. Any suggestions as to how I can get rolling again? I'm getting near a deadline and I'm stuck.

·
Registered
113 Posts
several things to try, is the circuit breaker tripping or the gfi? Look at the plug end, do they show signs of burning? How long is the extention cord? Shorter the better. try using a larger gauge size 10. Look at the amp draw on the dryer, if close to breaker rating, the breaker could be week. Best of luck.

·
Registered
2,910 Posts
Most general household breakers are 15amps.
You could try to run that flash dryer with nothing else on that circuit, or you could run a heavy duty extension cord(must be heavy duty!) to the outlet for your laundry room. Usually they are at least 20 amps.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The extension cord that I am using is listed as "heavy duty", and I am running it solo on the outlet I use for my washing machine. When you say heavy duty do you mean wiring in an appliance plug to run the dryer? I double checked my breakers and they are 20 A. I just dont know what the problem is.

·
Registered
3 Posts
The extension cord that I am using is listed as "heavy duty", and I am running it solo on the outlet I use for my washing machine. When you say heavy duty do you mean wiring in an appliance plug to run the dryer? I double checked my breakers and they are 20 A. I just dont know what the problem is.