T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to the tee shirt business and I have just signed up for my first fair. My question is that I don't know how many designs I should bring and how many of each design and in what sizes?
This is a 3 day event in the fall. I'm doing the show because the price is good, however, the price is good because these are the 3 slowest days of the fair.
I thought this would give me an opportunity to check out the market and how things work in this arena.
We will be there for 12 hours a day in a kiddie section (another reason why it's so cheap). My slogans are geared more toward adults, but I can't afford $2,000 to show in that area of the fair.
Thanks for you help
MJ:)

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
As you move out into the fair world, especially if you can't find 'prime' booth space, it may behoove you to ask other vendors if they would consign your apparel, or ask if you could take up a portion of their booth and, in turn, either pay a commission on sales or flat fee. There's a few websites out there which tell you about all the fair, events, etc. going on across the US. They will also give you numbers of vendors at the events and then it's time to start cold calling.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Tom, Thanks for your input. I would have never thought of that. What a great idea! I'm still struggling with how much inventory to bring. My imprinter (I outsource) will make as many as I want but will charge me an under minimum fee. If I sell out I really cannot take orders due to the fact that I can't get one shirt made for someone.
Is there anyone out there who will silk screen one shirt? I would like to personalize shirts.
Once again, Tom, Thanks a bunch
MJ

·
Registered
1,231 Posts