T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope I'm posting this in the right area, I have some questions about starting out.

I heard from another successful screen printer in my home town that they had bought a machine off of Craigslist for $300. This sounded kind of absurd to me, but they had the proof to back it.

I'm wondering if this is a good idea to pursue for starting out, and if so what pitfalls should I be looking out for? What are the main qualities in a simple screenprint machine that I should really pay attention to? (please don't say obvious things like, one that's not broken)

If you think a site like Craigslist is wrong, what other sites/Companies could I pursue and what sort of minimum pricing do they have?

I am an artist who also creates designs for tees, so feel free to use lingo and I will ask about specific things I don't know. Also please check out my site if you're interested in seeing a new artist to the forums!

Thanks!

·
Registered
46 Posts
I highly recommend youtees.net

He also has youtube videos explaining the process. If you buy his extremely cheap and effective press he sends you a mailing list of what to buy. Like where to buy the best inks, screens, squeegees, emulsion, etc. He is all about getting the most for your dollar. He teaches 100% quality screen printing with his patented micro-tuning process. He is from Oregon.
The best customer service I seen in a while too.

·
Registered
72 Posts
check out my post 1 station four color press, this is s good price 329 but like splathead says rayonet have their silverpress for 399 and anything over 100 dollars is free shipping. I reviewed the videos on the other unit and its a great system, but I'm not sure I want to commit type of system till I have been printing for a while.

·
Registered
91 Posts
I think finding a quality press and other equipment off Craigslist is totally reasonable.