T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a project that is in photoshop EPS and I hear it's not a vector based program.

So will it not look as good when I send it to print?

Also, only parts are vectorized on some of the designs. About half of my designs are half vectored and the other half use all vector layers. All the non vectored stuff originally came from vector so I'm kind of mad at myself
for rasterizing it and saving. Will there be any problems? They look clean and all projects are at 300dpi.

I hear Illustrator rules vector land but I'm a pro at PS. What sets it apart?
Does it grab paths better when you auto? I'm hearing about livetrace and this and that and just wanna know.

One last question, I have this one design that I intend on using 1 color print with. The background is say white (tee color) and the design black.I want the design to be just outlines(when printed), but it's a solid vector shape. So what I did was drew another solid vector shape in white over the black design to make the black design look like it was an outline. So say I send this in Photoshop Eps, will they have trouble seperating this and keeping it to 1 color ? Because just by looking at it I'd figure yeah but just not sure.

Anything would greatly appreciated, and I'm already getting CS2 for my next set of designs. AAARRRHHHH!!!! Another classroom in a book!

· Registered
397 Posts
Hi, Henry. Welcome to the forum!

I will try to answer some of your questions. To start with, PS is a raster based program, and Illustrator is a vector based program. PS works with pixels, Illustrator works with vector points. If you are creating a path in PS, it's still going to be raster. That's just the nature of the program.

If you are saving at 300dpi in PS, you should have no problem with quality. The difference you have with a vector file is that it will have the same quality at 1" in size as it does at 100" in size.