T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys,
i'm a beginner and need to know a few things about illustrator. First of all i need to know what is a common size for a t-shirt print and how fine can i make my design, that it is later printable and visible (pixel). When i trace a picture into a vector, is it then a ready layer which comes out 1:1 as i see it? I ask, because i was tracing a very fine mashed (but dirty) 46mb immage and the vector result is good. But since i don't want to color this layer in black, when ever i change it in another color, it fills up everything trough the graphics in that color. Since 2 days i just try to change that vector black into another color....it doesnt't work without changing the shape, or loosing bits and pieces. Now i converted the color in photoshop to play around with the colors.

greetings
shido

· Registered
103 Posts
In illustrator, use your direct selection tool (white pointed arrow) and select the newly traced bit. It should show up as black on the color selection. Go up to "Select" tab and down to "Select same" and then to "Fill Color". That will obviously select everything that is black and you can alter the color of that.

With Illustrator, you have fills and strokes. When you have the program automatically trace an image, it will most of the time come out directly to fills with no strokes. It will most of the time take the original background bounding box (usually white fill) and trace that as well, so you sometimes have to delete that if you plan on mixing elements together.

Without seeing the file itself, I can't really comment of if this will work for you, but it is a very basic attempt at it. At the least, it will get you in the ballpark. Hope it helps you out. :)

· Registered
103 Posts
Also within Illustrator, you can zoom in and out of the image (ctrl +/ctrl -/ ctrl 0) so you can never use how the image shows on your screen as its actual size.