T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey boys and girls, very fresh to the forum! I've been reading around, definitely looks like a very helpful place to start. Just a quick brief about myself: I've been into strength training and martial arts for a number of years. I have my bachelors in exercise science & moving into a doctor of physiotherapy.

This being my off year, i've decided to make some training apparel (mainly though frustration in not being able to find some reasonable training tanks/singlets, with a nice logo but nothing flashy)

My first issue of considering is with regards to copyrights. My prints will be a collation of different pictures, cropping and chopping. What's the deal with using silhouettes? I love the black and white contrast - are they are safe option to use on prints?

I'm getting my head around illustrator at the moment, and flicking between that, and sadly, paint. (i'm an academic, not a designer - though I have two artistic mates of mine looking over my shoulder, and they love the simplicity of it all).

I've managed to find a decent supplier internationally, and am waiting for test prints to arrive at my front door, which should be today. Then i'll be going ahead with it.

I was thinking possibly 5 designs to start off with, and see how I go. I'd like to set up shop on ebay first, while working on a cart system in the background (anyone care to show me their e-commerce clothing solution?)

Really enjoying reading this forum so far - and i've love any advice from the been there and done that brigade.. anything to be cautious of, etc etc.

Also, when sending off a print electronically - what is the best format to do so? I've been using standard RGB high quality Jpeg, and they seem to come out fine. I do remember though, when I did my business card - it was CMYK.

All part of the learning curve I guess.