T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so I'm rather baffled by my current situation. I've been using the same exposure unit and emulsion since October of 2010 and just started having issues about three weeks ago.

I have this generic 20x24 aluminum exposure unit: Aluminum UV Screen Exposure Unit 20"x24"

I use SAATI - Grafic HU42 Dual Cure.

When washing the image out, right when the emulsion is able to spray out, all the "cured" emulsion around the image starts to come off too. Also there was a time when I was new and would use things like q tips or paper towels to help get the image to come thru while washing it out, but now if I even slightly touch the screen with my finger, all the emulsion will instantly become gooey and come off.

I've been reading online it could be under exposing. So I've tried a few things.

I normally would burn screens for 6-7 minutes. Yesterday I tried 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 16, and 20 minute exposure times. I also put brand new bulbs in and tried exposure times of 6, 10, and 20 minutes. I know the times are alittle off the wall, but I was hoping I could have atleast over exposed and still got my image to burn but that wasn't the case.

Also I just replaced my stock light bulbs with these ones: Lighting fixtures, gu10 halogen, light bulb, lamp, fluorescent, incandescent, metal halide from Light Bulb Depot.

They seem to be identical in every way to my old ones but I'd like to double check.

Any help or tips would be appreciated as I'm now at a halt and got quite a few jobs lined up. Thank you.

· Registered
2,978 Posts