T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am brand new to screen printing (complete novice, just been learning off of videos and this forum). I'm actually pursuing a different avenue than most of you, I am working in a research lab and we are trying to use screen printing as a method of printing circuits (we have a conductive ink that we plan to use)

The circuits are on the micro-scale, so obviously we need extremely fine detail. We are using a 420 mesh count screen to try and obtain this.

Here's the thing: based on everything I'm reading, with a 420 mesh count I should expect to have to expose my screen for about 4 minutes (maybe more). However with this amount of time I can't wash out the image, maybe only bits and pieces here and there.

But if I reduce the time all the way down to 1:30, I get good details and no peeling. So I guess my question is, what am I missing here? I just want to make sure that this isn't going to cause any problems later (with inking or whatever), because 1:30 seems like a ridiculous time to me based on everything I've read

I coat the screen once on the shirt side and then once on the squeegee side. Let it out to dry overnight in a fume hood. Exposure table is an RXP exposure unit (25x36" Auto UV Screen Exposure Unit w/ Aluminum Compression Lid).

Thanks in advance for any information you might be able to provide, I'm trying to understand everything I can about this process so that I can adjust it as necessary for our needs

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
The type of emulsion also affects the exposure time. I have never exposed with that type of bulb, but the metal halide exposure unit we use exposes screens in 20 seconds or less so 1:30 isn't unusual. You may want to pick up an exposure step scale to make sure you are using the correct exposure time.

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
If the image area doesn't dissolve it was hardened