T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, hopefully you guys can help me.

I've tried searching for help but can't find anything specific to my problem.

I'm trying my very first screenprint and I have a very minimal, DIY setup (I'm a student with very little money).

The screen I'm using is a 120T (around 300 US count) screen. And the emulsion is the Speedball Diazo kit.

My problem lies in the exposing of the screen, the lamp I'm using is a 400w halogen worklight. I've tried 3 times to expose the screen and each time it only leaves a faint trace of the design. Washing it does nothing (I'm only using a shower-head but it's fairly strong).

I've tried various intervals of time, first was 15mins, then I tried 30mins and then I left it way over an hour. Everytime there wasn't much difference in the appearance of the screen.

The 3rd time I tried removing the protective glass shield on the halogen lamp as I read that was protecting UV? But that made no difference.

I was starting to think that it was something to do with the glass holding down the design, as that seems fairly reflective but surely not?

This is the design I'm trying - [media]http://f.cl.ly/items/1L1F2i3P0J0q0G453h1b/aztek.jpg[/media]

Any help is appreciated!

· Registered
2,152 Posts
You have a lot of detail in the image--how are you keeping the positive pressed against the stencil/dried emulsion?

You may want to try less time, as well--it's difficult to get a lot of detail without underexposing, especially with a diazo, on a low wattage halogen.
Someone will soon tell you that anything speedball is junk, and that you should throw it away and buy whatever brand they think is great, but assuming you followed mixing and storage directions, and expose it properly, it should work--just to give you a heads-up. :)

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·