T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie. Exactly what kind of lighting do I need? I've heard people mention yellow lighting as well as red lights.

And, I'm assuming the only time I need to be working in this special lighting is when I'm applying the emulsion, and while it's drying on the screen, is that correct?

· Registered
2,977 Posts
You need a yellow bug light. Make sure no sunlight or other light gets in the room. You will need to use this light anytime you have an open container of emulsion, or emulsion drying on a screen, or emulsion on a screen that hasn't been burned with an image yet, or while you're rinsing the screen after it's been burned and while it's drying after the image has been rinsed out.

· Registered
8,278 Posts
I have standard floresent lights with yellow covers. Best thing I ever did. Ryonet and performance screen both sell the covers. Not the cheapest things but so much more light than the standard bug lights. I used to have 3 bug light and now only 1 4ft fixture with 2 bulbs.

· Registered
264 Posts
I use clear UV blocking sleeves. They have them at screenprintingsupplies.com. I think that's where I got them. They have them on amazon too. $25 each I believe, but for $50-$100 getting to set up in regular white light is worth it for me. Haven't had an issue with it yet and I'm using ulano QX-1 which exposes pretty quickly. I do keep my drying screens in a covered rack so I don't know about ling term exposure. However for 20 minutes of coating, its seems to be fine.

· Registered
265 Posts