T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I kinda stumbled onto this printer by accident, as it was being replaced with a stylus 4000, and ended up being given to me. As far as i know it is in full working order, of course with just empty cartridges.

I am totally new to all this, but i want to make some t-shirts. I already have a heat press which i have never used, but am unsure as to what to do and which process to go with.

I see people talking magic ink and durabrite, but i am not sure how they work, i jumped on the magic ink website (TLM i believe), found empty cartridges for my printer and ink refills, but not sure what it meant by chipped for unchipped.

I originally wanted to do sublimation, but have had trouble finding cheap ink for the epson 3000. I have found EPSON compatible sub ink in bottles locally, would that mean i could use any empty cartridge, like the ones from TLM and fill them with this ink and would work on my 3000??

On these forums i have read alot about transfers, which look interesting, but i always thought they required a cutter/plotter to weed out the print or else you would be able to see the layer of film (or whatever they are) on the t-shirt. Dark t-shirt transfers especially??

Also mentioning of durabrite OEM ink? could somebody link me to what these are, I have again only found the magic ink? DO these inks also work with paper, that i guess would be good, to be able to produce t-shirts and posters to go along with them, without swapping inks in and out.

Recently i recieved an email telling me i could get inks to directly print onto fabrics with a large printer like mine, but i can't imagine anyway or actually getting a t-shirt through my printer, seems a bit strange.

This sounds like enough of a newbie start, some help understanding all this would be fantastic, thank you.

Zac

·
Registered
383 Posts