T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

Im new to the t-shirt forum, but have read most of the threads on here pertaining to which epson printer to choose. Im kinda stuck right now. Im opening up a t-shirt business where I will be doing customized t-shirts (about 100 a month). Now my question after reading all the threads is which printer should I buy the epson C88 or the 1280. Most people say to go with the C88 but their are a few who recommend the 1280. It seems to make more sense to buy the C88 for only $100, whereas the 1280 costs $499. Will there be a big difference in the quality of the print on the C88 model compared to the 1280? Is the jamming problems with transfers worth the headache? Its really all about quality and making the customer come back so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
Good morning.. The difference is the ink.. 1280 uses Dye ink and the c88 uses pigment ink which is what is recommended. 1280 is a larger format printer with 6 inks. c88 is 4 inks. If you were to print an 8 x 11 print on the c88 you average cost would be about 50 cents. It would be about 75 cents for the 1280. By the way the 1280 can be found but it is being replaced by the r1800. I am a former epson rep. If all your doing is 100 shirts a month then think in terms return on investment. How many shirts will you need to print before you recover that $400.The other thing is what size transfers you want to do. Hope this helps. Lou

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply lou, very much appreciated! If the difference is only in the ink and the C88 uses the ink that is recommened, then I can only assume that I should be buying the C88 and maybe later after the profits start increasing upgrade the epson printer.

·
Registered
36 Posts