T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I just got off the phone w/the Epson customer service.
I wanted Durabrite ink for my printer, but they're not available.
So, I inquired about the C88 that I've read many people on this forum has, and the guy said that Durabrite is a Pigment ink and that it was not created nor tested by Epson for transfers.
The R220 and R200 were specifically created for photos and transfer paper. And the ink is different: it's DYE, not pigmented. He said it's better and tested.

ALright, my pops is offering to buy me a new printer for Xmas. So, which one?!
the difference in price is a mere $20, so the issue is really the INK choice (pigment or dye) and printer style.
Thanks if you reply.
LindaLu

PS. my middle problem comes and goes (mostly successes), so thanks for the replies on the previous thread.

·
Registered
950 Posts
Hi Lindalu,

I'm no experton this, but I do have a few thoughts that may help you decide, since I also looked into the printer question recently.

Lindalu said:
Okay, I just got off the phone w/the Epson customer service.
I wanted Durabrite ink for my printer, but they're not available.
So, I inquired about the C88 that I've read many people on this forum has, and the guy said that Durabrite is a Pigment ink and that it was not created nor tested by Epson for transfers..
I have learned here that many people do use the Durabrite inks with success, however, some report that the images are coming out too yellow and they needed to adjust the color output to compensate for that. I have read that the Durabrite inks were not really designed with the use of a heat press in mind.

What you want is a pigmented ink that is formulated with heat press transfers in mind. Magic Mix ink is highly reccomended by many people here. This ink can be located at TLM Supply House.