T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, im new to sublimation, ive started with mugs.
Using a mug press, set to med pressure, 170 degrees for 45 secs (ive tried more pressure, different times, 60 secs makes the black more brown)

I got a good black oblong sample:

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11992137_10204483537719693_571287924_n_zpsho2wzyeo.jpg[/media]

So went for the full print but got this, faded at the bottom and element pattern marks at the top:

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11992460_10204483538839721_1595185751_n_zpsgvbe4dlu.jpg[/media]

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11997370_10204483539279732_431843860_n_zpsfxfgnkq0.jpg[/media]

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I'll upload them again tomorrow with more pics of my findings.

its a brand new machine, i managed to get the black all the way to the edges, after spending 4 days testing strips on different settings, and the best for no fading at the bottom or top was 160 degrees for 230 seconds and the pressure really tight, but then it browns in the middle of the strip.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)
Yeah 160 degrees celsius. 170 burns it too much and sends most of the middle of the black strip brown.

Ive uploaded a pic of the black patch that looked ok (170 degrees for 45 secs, loose pressure), at the patch at the top of the mug.

So i did the batman mug at that temp and the pics show the results.

So i tried about 45/50 different settings over 4 days now.
The list is all the settings ive tried and the results.

And the patches on the mug show the progress i was making the last few days. (I didnt use full strips on this one as had a small strip printed off and didnt want to waste any more ink, as ive already wasted 8 mugs so far)